University of Connecticut

Leave Type: Maternity
Employee: Represented by P-2, Social and Human Services (AFSCME)


Definition

“Maternity leave” begins on the date of birth and continues during the medically certified period of disability, which is generally 6 weeks (or 8 weeks following a Cesarean birth).  Medically certified leaves prior to birth are not considered maternity (personal illness), nor is a non-medical leave following the period of disability (parental leave).

 

Job Protection and Benefit Continuation

Federal FMLA 

  • Eligible after one year of employment and after working 1,250 hours or more in previous 12-months
  • Up to 12 weeks of leave during 12-month FMLA period
  • Continued eligibility for state contributions toward health insurance (directly billed as needed)

Pregnancy Discrimination Act

  • Pregnancy-related conditions cannot be singled out for special procedures to determine an employee's ability to work.
  • Job must be held open for a pregnancy-related absence the same length of time jobs are held open for employees on sick or disability leave.

Connecticut General Statute 46a.60(a).7

  • Provides for a reasonable leave for disability resulting from pregnancy
  • Requires employers to allow employees to use pay accruals during the leave
  • Provides for reinstatement to original job or to an equivalent position following leave
  • Continued eligibility for state contributions toward health insurance

Note:  Leaves for employees with end date positions will not be extended beyond the end date.


How the Leave is Paid

Paid using sick leave entitlements. 

Optional paid time that can be applied to the leave after exhausting sick leave entitlements:

  • Personal leave
  • Vacation Time
  • Earned holidays

Advanced Sick Leave

  • Must have at least 5 years of full-time service
  • Available when all paid leave options (from above) are exhausted
  • For cases involving extended periods of illness or injury
  • 1 day at full pay for each completed year of full-time service to a maximum of 30 days at full pay

Extended Sick Leave

  • Must have at least 20 years of state service
  • Available when all paid leave options (from above) are exhausted
  • Half-pay for up to a maximum of 30 days

 

Forms

Employee Request
Intent to Return to Work
Medical Certification (P-33A)
Request for Advance of Sick Leave

Note:  After baby is born, must provide Leave Administrator with birth certificate.  If delivery is by Cesarean section, must provide Leave Administrator with medical certification reflecting Cesarean birth.

 

Time Coding During the Leave

TAS Code Description Instructions

 

Maternity (from date of birth to 6 weeks (or 8 weeks if C-Section) using:

 

FMS

Current sick time

Must be used first.

FML

Leave without pay

 

Used when all other sick time is exhausted until 6 weeks (or 8 weeks if C-Section).

FMP

Personal leave time (PL)

FMT

T-Time; Holiday worked

FMV

Vacation

For time that is not protected by Federal FMLA, use standard time codes (examples:  “LV” for leave without pay, “V” for Vacation)

 

Policy References

Understanding Family and Medical Leave (A primer for Connecticut State Employees)
Federal Family and Medical Leave Act
Federal Family and Medical Leave Act in Spanish
U.S. Dept. of Labor Employee's Guide to FMLA
Pregnancy Discrimination Act
Connecticut Statute
  C.G.S. 46a.60(a).7  
Statewide Family and Medical Leave Policy
P-2 Contract  Article 24 Pregnancy, Maternal and Parental Leave
  Article 27 Holidays
  Article 28 Vacations
  Article 29 Sick Leave
  Article 30 Personal Leave


Human Resources Contact

Suzanne Vilchinskas
Telephone:  (860) 486-0398
Fax: (860) 486-0406